The Jubilee Course, St Andrews Links
Created on a narrow strip of land between the New Course and the sea, the Jubilee was originally a 12 hole course intended for ladies and beginners. It was the result of an initiative by the Town Council who had re-acquired the Links under the 1894 Links Act. In March 1897 the Council gave the go-ahead to Mr John Angus Jnr to lay out the course and have it ready to play in the current season for the princely sum of 178 pounds. A week later he had 20 men working on site. The course was ready on 22 June, the date of a public holiday to celebrate the Diamond Jubilee of Queen Victoria’s accession to the throne. A commemorative Jubilee Fountain was unveiled on the Links and the Jubilee course was officially opened by the wife of the Provost John Macgregor.
Around 1902 David Honeyman, Tom Morris’ right-hand man, suggested that it was possible to extend the course to 18 holes. This was done in 1905 at a cost of 150 pounds, but only after an agreement had been reached with the local Rifle and Artillery Volunteers to regulate play when target shooting was in progress at the rifle butts at the far end of the course. In 1988 the re-design of the Jubilee to championship standard was carried out by Donald Steel of Cotton, Pennink, Steel & Partners, golf course architects. The teeing grounds were raised, not only providing wonderful views of the Links but also exposing the golfers to the winds which sweep in from the bay. Mr Steel’s redesigned course was 6,805 yards and a real test for all golfers